The Birchbark House

Immerse yourself in the daily rhythms of family life for Omakayas, a young Ojibwa girl who lives on an island in Lake Superior in 1847. When her family faces the perils of disease from Europe, brave, thoughtful Omakayas discovers her calling. A beautiful book, and Omakayas is an incredible character.

This is the first book of the Birchbark House series by the amazing author Louise Erdrich (adults should read her brilliant recent book, The Sentence!), which includes The Birchbark House, The Game of Silence, The Porcupine Year, Chickadee, and Makoons.

by Louise Erdrich
Find out more

Ages 9-14
Adults: Nah, we’re fine – but adults may like it too!

More Stuff

Find more things to watch, read and listen to...

El Deafo

A hilarious story of growing up & unexpected superpowers.